FOOD · Home

Deviled Eggs for Super Bowl Sunday

DEVILED EGGS

This weekend won’t be about me and my fertility struggles. Oh no, it will be about my hubby and his team in the Super Bowl. And, I am fine with that. I need a mental break of thinking about appointment, deductibles, and the large sum of money that is going to be drained out of my bank account for IVF with PGS.

In my house we are Patriots fans. There are no other teams according to my husband, a die hard Patriots fan from the East coast. On Sunday I will be torn between the two teams, but don’t tell me hubby that. Since we just moved to the Pacific Northwest I feel inclined to become a Seahawks fan, but my hubby bleeds for everything New England. I am pretty sure the majority of friends that will fill our house on Sunday are Seahawks fan, so this could get interesting.

When I think of football and a large gathering I think of yummy food and then go on to think about deviled eggs. I know most people think WINGS and GREASE and CHEESY for football get togethers, but I try to stay on the healthy side of things. So I go straight for the deviled eggs. They are pretty healthy aside from the heaping amount of mayo, but that’s ok.


DEVILED EGGS

A dozen eggs

Splash of vinegar

1/3 cup mayo

1 Tbsp dijon mustard

Salt and Pepper

Parsley, chopped finely

A pinch of paprika

Directions: Place eggs in a large pot of cold water that is generously salted. Cover. Bring to a rolling boil. Once you notice a rolling boil remove from heat. Add a splash of vinegar to the water and let sit for about 30 minutes. In a large bowl of ice cold water place eggs to cool down for about 10-20 minutes. Once eggs are cool – take each egg and crack twice on a cutting board Place the eggs back in the cold water. (This helps to make removing the shell easier) Carefully peel each shell – if need be, dunk in the water after peeling to make sure that there are no shell pieces stuck to the egg. Cut the egg in half and carefully remove the yolk to another bowl. Once all the yolks are in a bowl mash with a fork and add the mayo, mustard, salt, and pepper. Place the mixture in a pastry bag and squeeze the filling into each egg half. Sprinkle parsley and paprika over the top. Now eat before they are all gone.

And

GO PATRIOTS

&

GO SEAHAWKS

Can’t everyone just be winners then we could all be happy. 🙂

XO

2 thoughts on “Deviled Eggs for Super Bowl Sunday

  1. We all need a well deserved break now and then…hope you have a great weekend! I still haven’t quite figured out all the rules for football, having been in the US for two years now, I feel a bit ashamed :-s

    Like

Leave a Reply

