FOOD · Home

Friday Foody

My Favorite Gluten Free Snacks

Food is what makes me happy. Eating food, making food, and thinking about food are three major parts of my life. Over the past few years I have tried to maintain a gluten free diet and this has restricted me from eating some of my favorite foods. Such as carbs. I love carbs. I was known for devouring warm baguettes in the car before we even got home.Unfortunately, that has changed with the no gluten diet.

It has been hard to strict to a no gluten diet and I have cheated a lot. I know I know, I am just cheating myself and my gut, but sometimes I just don’t care. There are days when pasta is just calling my name and who am I to be rude and ignore it? I would say 97% of the time I am good and stick to the rules because it is necessary for hypothyroidism and for my gut (who does not like when I eat gluten). To help me stay away from the evils of GF I usually have my pantry stacked with a few items that makes getting through the day easier.

GF Pic

The Snacks

1. Terra Chips Mediterranean 

These chips are absolutely delicious. In my opinion they are better than any real chip out there. I could eat an entire bag in one sitting. (Not when my hubby is around because he thinks I chomp on them way to loud) There are many different flavor and root varieties to choose from, but the mediterranean is my favorite. Happy Chomping!

2. GF All-Purpose Baking Mix

Somedays I am just too lazy to mix and match all my gf flours to create something to eat. That is where this mix comes in handy. I have used it for pancakes and pastries and they turn out delish!

3. Hammer&Tuffs Granola

If you’re going to be Gluten Free, Vegetarian, or Vegan then Portland, Oregon is the place to be. There are so many great local food options. I love this Granola in Banna Bread Blend. It’s crunchy and yummy and makes the perfect topping on my smoothies.

4. Hail Merry Macaroons

When I need something sweet this are my go to. So yummy. I love the Blonde and Carmel Sea Salt flavors. I have to only grab one macaroon and walk away before I start shoveling them in my mouth. (There seems to be a theme of me and over eating everything. Oh well)

5. Tamari Soy Sauce Packets

These are a new addition to my pantry and purse. I didn’t know the little packets existed and could have used them the other week when I went out with the hubby for sushi. I tried to bring my own gf soy sauce in a small container and that didn’t work out so well. It opened in my purse and I wound up with a wallet and a random selection of lip-glosses covered in soy sauce. I won’t make that mistake again.

Happy Eating.

XO

4 thoughts on “Friday Foody

Leave a Reply

