FOOD · Home

Friday Foody

Waiting for my first round of IVF to start is not easy. I find myself with extra time on my hands and not exactly knowing how to fill in the gaps. I am eager to jump ahead to when I can start the IVF process, but I know that’s not possible. So, I find myself spending my free time in the kitchen and that is ok by me.

Because….

There is nothing I love more than spending time in my kitchen. I love putting on an apron and trying out new recipes. Totally a 1950’s housewife at times and love it. But, not in any other aspect. Just the cooking part. And that’s only when I feel like cooking or baking. Ok, not even close to a 1950’s housewife. More like a new age housewife who only likes to be in the kitchen when I want to and  only likes to cook what I want to cook.

Back to the point of this post.

The other week my friend, who also eats gluten free, came over and we tried some recipes out of the cookbook, every last crumb by Brittany Angell.

The best GF cookbook for delicious treats
The best GF cookbook for delicious treats

Ladies…this book is amazing. It has all the treats that I love and haven’t been able to eat since going gluten free. The recipes are amazing and every treat that we baked turned out simply delish. Like, so good that we didn’t want to share with anyone else. This book does require a cooking scale for weight measurements rather than our traditional measurements, but it makes the recipes turn out even better. It’s worth the purchase.

Chocolate Chip Cookies, Parker House Rolls & Blueberry Muffins
Chocolate Chip Cookies, Parker House Rolls & Blueberry Muffins

I didn’t take any good pictures of us while making the treats. There wasn’t time. We were so in the baking zone that I didn’t even think about it. The reason these recipes turned out so amazing is because the recipes are very detailed. The chocolate chip cookies were the easiest to bake and turned out so delish. I froze the extras to snack on when I want a sweet treat in the evening. These cookies are egg free, can be made dairy free, nut free and grain free.

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Recipe from: Every Last Crumb by Brittany Angell

Ingredients
288 grams blanched almond flour (about 2 cups)
1 teaspoon double-acting, aluminum free baking powder
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
80 grams granulated maple sugar or coconut palm sugar (about 1/2 cup)
3 tablespoon salted butter, Spectrum vegetable shortening, or coconut oil, room temp
2 tablespoons milk (dairy or non dairy)
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/2 to 1 cup chocolate chips
directions:
1. preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 standard-sized or 1 large baking sheet with parchment paper.
2. in the bowl of a stand mixer, using the whisk attachment 
(or by hand in a mixing bowl), mix the almond flour, baking 
powder, and salt until blended. Add the rest of the 
ingredients, except the chocolate chips, and mix until 
combined. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand.
3.Divide the dough into 12 equal portions. Using your hands, form each portion into a patty about 3/4 inch thick and 3 
inches in diameter. (Note: this dough may be a little crumbly - don't fret if it is!) Place the cookies on the prepared 
baking sheet(s), 1 1/2 inches apart.
4. Bake for 16 to 17 minutes, until the bottoms and edges 
start to turn lightly golden brown.
5. Allow the cookies to cook on the pan(s). Store the cooled cookies at room temperature in a sealed bag or container, or freeze for another day.

Happy Baking!

XO

5 thoughts on “Friday Foody

  1. I’ve never understood cooking using ‘cup’ measurements. Cooking is a science and I would think there’s too much room for error when using cups. I always work in metric measurements for the best results but my mum swears by imperial measures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

