Home · infertility

Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis

For the past few years I have felt like something was off in my body. It started around the time my husband and I decided to move to Portland. I noticed some weight gain and my husband noticed my decreased libido. I didn’t think anything of it as I was anxious for our upcoming move and I was just getting off birth control pills, I just figured it was the hormones getting straightened out.

Fast forward two plus years and I have officially been diagnosed with hypothyroidism and most recently Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis. For those of you that don’t know what it means Hashimoto’s is an autoimmune disease where the immune system mistakenly recognizes the thyroid tissue cells as foreign and attacks and destroys them. It produces antibodies to the thyroid and is the cause for my hypothyroidism. Once you have it you will have it for life and medication is the only way that I know of to keep it in check. Fun, I love popping pills on an empty stomach every morning and not being able to eat or drink for 30 minutes. The worst part is trying to space out all the morning medications when doing IVF as you can’t take any other meds for 2 hours. Ugh.

hashis

Once my doctor realized that my TSH levels were high he put me on medication to regulate my thyroid and my levels have been within normal range ever since. So, there is no worry from him that this has anything to do with my recurrent miscarriages, but I am still unconvinced. I will bring it up again in our discussion tomorrow.

However, it did take me almost a year for a doctor to recognize my abnormal TSH levels and do something about it. During my first three miscarriages I was with a normal OBGYN through Kaiser Permanente and she didn’t believe my TSH levels were abnormal. According to their guidelines they were in range.  However,  if you looked at any resource that specializes in hypothyroidism then you would know that my levels were far to high. That just goes to show that not every doctor is versed in the world of thyroid and it is important to seek out someone who understands the importance of a properly functioning thyroid.

The only reason that my Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis was discovered is because I pushed to have other tests done to look deeper into the root of my hypothyroidism. Luckily for me I have a friend in the health care industry and she was able to get the labs done for me as she is a firm advocate of treating and understanding autoimmune issues.Thank god for smart friends. She also firmly believes in a strict gluten-free and inflammatory diet to help alleviate the symptoms. Just more cause for me to stick to GF for good. Lame, I know. Life without baguettes and homemade pasta sounds horrible. But, a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do.

Want more information on Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis……check out this website.

XO

6 thoughts on “Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis

  1. Thank you for this info and the resource! A good friend of mine (who cant seem to get pregnant) was originally diagnosed with Hashimoto’s, then they switched her label to Grave’s. I know they are both related to the thyroid but thats about it. I am going to pass this on to her!

    Like

  2. So I have hypothyroidism and based on the testing from Dr. Braverman I know I’m at risk for Hashimoto’s. When we got all our testing done with Dr. B I didn’t worry too much about things he said I may have a predisposition for because my mind was else where. But today you’ve made me remember that I need to look into the difference and when hypothyroidism may turn into Hashimoto’s. So, thank you for sharing your experience and for reminding me that I should look into my own situation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

