FET · infertility · IVF

Another Birthday in the books & Beta update

IMG_3551

Another birthday has come and gone, and I am OK with that. I didn’t feel like celebrating or doing anything major for the 31st. I just felt like letting it go by un-noticed and without much fanfare.

Usually, I am one who loves to celebrate my birthday and in the past I have never let a November go by without declaring it my birthday month.

But, not this year. November is just slipping by.

I am just getting tired of having another year go by and nothing in the fertility world to show for it, other than lots of injections and heartbreak.

Last years birthday celebration.
Last years birthday celebration. Surrounded by love and fun.

Β IΒ spent my birthday morning getting my blood drawn for my second beta, and it wasn’t the results I had hoped to see. It has dropped a little. The nurse tried to be positive and explained that this could be because both embryos had originally planted and we are now loosing one, but I am not so optimistic.Β I am hoping that at least one of my little embies is trying to grow, but right now it is hard to be happy. A decrease is a decrease and in my mind that can never lead to something good. I go back in tomorrow to see what it actually going on. Praying for something positive.

I hope that next year I have a real reason to celebrate my day of birth.

xo

35 thoughts on “Another Birthday in the books & Beta update

  1. ugh. I am so sorry. that is not the news that anyone wanted to hear. I am thinking of you and hoping for the best. I can only imagine how you are feeling right now though. 😦 Did it drop from 400 or just not double completely? *hugs*

    Like

  2. What?! NO. I’m sorry you got this news on your birthday. However, the nurse could totally be right! I will keep the faith for you. As I’ve recently learned from my experience, two embryos implanting and one not making it is pretty common.

    Like

  3. First, happy birthday! I figure, every single birthday, even the bad ones is worth celebrating. πŸ™‚
    That said, I am so sorry to hear that your beta has dropped. While the nurse may be right, I know my attitude would be the same as yours, in fact it was the same as yours. So, I just want to say to hold onto any moments of hope you have, but also allow yourself to feel however you feel. It’s not easy, and I’m rooting for you!!

    Like

  4. Happy birthday..::. I know what you mean about not being in the mood to celebrate – 31 and 32 were like that for me what with my losses. And I’m sorry you didn’t get the news you were hoping for, but I will continue to hope the nurse is right and that one of the little babes is hanging on.

    Like

  5. Happy Birthday! I can completely relate to this post. I turned 31 in June. Like you I typically love the fanfare and the month is my birthday. This year, I let it slide by. I’m sorry about being in beta limbo. It sucks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

